Teen Driver Accidents
An accident involving a teen driver can change a victim’s life forever. Years ago, the Automobile Association of America found that teens who drive with friends in a car take more risks and get into more serious accidents when their friends are in the car than when they drive alone or with an adult. Texas follows a graduated licensing law to try to protect teenagers and others on the road from risky driving behavior. If you are hurt in an accident with a teen driver, or you are a parent of an injured teenager in Dallas or the surrounding communities, the car accident attorneys at Feizy Law Office can help you pursue compensation.Holding a Careless Teen Driver Liable for Damages
In Texas, a graduated licensing law requires drivers under 18 to hold a learner's license for a minimum of six months and be accompanied by a driver who is at least 21 years old. In the second phase, a driver under age 18 gets a provisional license that prohibits him or her from operating a car when there is more than one passenger under age 21 in the vehicle who is not a family member. During the second phase, a teen driver cannot drive without a parent or guardian between midnight and 5 a.m. unless he or she is going to a school-related activity or work, or handling a medical emergency. The driver cannot use any wireless communication device unless there is an emergency. Even after the teen receives an unrestricted license, the teen's parents must make sure he or she is driving safely in compliance with the law.
If you are involved in an accident with a teen driver, you may be able to recover compensation for your injuries. In general, to establish a driver's negligence, you would need to show the other driver's duty of care, an action that breached this duty, actual and proximate causation, and damages. These must also be established if you are the parent of a teen who is hurt in an accident due to someone else's negligence.
When a teen driver is disobeying the rules of his or her graduated license, and this causes an accident, a victim may be able to use the doctrine of negligence per se to establish a presumption of negligence. This rule usually applies when:
- A driver violates a law, regulation, or ordinance;
- The violation directly causes an accident; and
- The accident is of the type that the law was designed to prevent.
For example, a 17-year-old driver who is texting while driving to meet friends at a party at 1 a.m. is violating the terms of her license. If she slams into your car at an uncontrolled intersection, you may be able to establish negligence per se by using a police report, so that the only contested issue is the amount of damages.
Conversely, if someone slams into your teen, and she is obeying all the rules of her license, your teen may have a cause of action against the other driver. Damages arising out of injuries to teenage drivers in a car accident may be significant and permanent. Parents of a teen driver who is seriously harmed by someone else's negligence may be able to help the teen pursue compensation for lifelong medical and nursing care.Protect Your Rights after an Accident by Consulting a Dallas Attorney
If you have been hurt in a teen driver accident caused by someone else, you may be able to recover compensation for the harm that you suffered and the costs that you incurred. Our injury lawyers are ready to assist crash victims in Dallas and other Texas cities with asserting their rights. Call Feizy Law Office at (214) 651-8686 or use our online form to arrange a free consultation. We represent injured individuals in Arlington, Irving, Plano, Garland, and Fort Worth.